Denmark Open 2014 Badminton: Indian Schedule and Chances

Scheduled from 14 October to 19th October this year, Denmark Open is one of the first Badminton tournament to be started as it’s history goes back to 1935. While local girl Tonny Olsen (Women’s Singles 1945-51) and local boy Morten Frost (1980-1986) won it for 7 consecutive times, for India only Prakash Padukone (1979) and Saina Nehwal (2012) have been the winner. In 2014, India has 2 shuttlers each for Men’s and Women’s Singles, one pair for Women’s Doubles, and Ponnappa playing the Mixed Singles with Russian partner. Check overall schedule and Saina’s historical win in 2012 Denmark Open.

Results: Day 1, Day 2, Day 3, Day 4

Indian Schedule in 2014
Matches of Indians on Day 5: 18 Oct

    16:30 P Kashyap vs Chen Long (2nd Seed from China)

Matches of Indians on Day 4: 17 Oct

    16:00 Sindhu P. V.
    16:00 K Srikanth
    18:30 P Kashyap
    21:30 Saina Nehwal

Matches of Indians on Day 3: 16 Oct

    16:00 Sindhu P. V. vs Ksenia Polikarpova (Russia)
    16:00 K Srikanth vs Jen Hao Hsu (Taiwan)
    18:30 P Kashyap vs Dionysius Hayom Rumbaka (Indonesia)
    21:30 Saina Nehwal vs Minatsu Mitani (Japan)

Head to Head
Sindhu and Srikanth are playing their opponents for the first time.

    Saina leads Mitani 4-2 so far in 6 matches winning the last one at Uber Cup, while in the last three matches, Mitani has won 2 of them.
    Kashyap trails Rumbaka 1-2 in their three meetings before. Kashyap won at Sudirman Cup 2013 when they last met.

Matches of Indians on Day 2: 15 Oct

    13:30 Ashwini Ponnappa/Vladimir vs Yun Lung Chan/Ying Suet Tse (Hong Kong)
    14:15 P Kashyap vs Rajiv Ouseph (England)
    15:45 PV Sindhu vs Pui Yin Yip (Hong Kong)
    16:30 Saina Nehwal (7th) vs Karin Schnaase (Germany)
    18:00 Srikanth vs Xue Song (China)
    18:45 Jwala/Ponnappa vs Muskens/Selena (Netherlands)

14 Oct Qualification

    15:10 Ashwini Ponnappa/Vladimir vs Ludvigsen/Surrow (Denmark) in Mixed Doubles
    18:30 Ashwini Ponnappa/Vladimir vs Mathias Christiansen and Lena Grebak (Denmark)

Saina Nehwal’s Win at Denmark Open 2012: Seeded Third Won the Tournament)

    1st R: Def Bae Y-j (Korea) 21-17, 21-17
    2nd R: Def Mitani (Japan) 21-15, 21-14
    QF: Def Tine Baun (Denmark) 21-10, 21-11
    SF: Def Wang Yihan (China) 21-12, 12-7 (Retired Hurt)
    Final: Juliane Schenk (Germany) 21-17, 21-8

Saina’s Performance in Denmark Open

    2011: Lost in second Round to Taipei’s Tai T-y.
    2012: Won the Tournament
    2013: Lost in QF to Sung J-h (Korea)

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.