IPL 2011 Facts and Groups

Indian Premier League 2011 matches have lesser matches than IPL 2010. First time, IPL is set to operate without its creator, Lalit Modi. Here are the details on Groups and tournament format.

Indian Premier League 2011: Squad List
Indian Premier League 2011: Tournament Schedule

Fact File

    Duration: 8 April – 28 May 2011
    Opening Ceremony: Chennai (Chepauk Stadium)
    Format: Ten-team format of Group Stage and Playoffs
    Groups: Two Groups of 5 teams each
    Matches: 74
    Group Matches: 70
    KnockOut Matches: 4
    Venues: 12


    Group A: Deccan Chargers (DC), Delhi Daredevils (DD), Kings XI Punjab (KXIP), Mumbai Indians (MI), Pune Warriors India (PWI)
    Group B: Chennai Super Kings (CSK), Kochi Tuskers Kerala (KTK), Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR), Rajasthan Royals (RR), Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB).

Group Stage Match Format
Every team will play 14 games at Group Stage. Two matches each (home and away) against remaining four teams from same group, one match each with four teams of other group, and two matches with one of the teams from other group.

Teams for two matches from other groups:

    Deccan Chargers (Group A) and KKR (Group B) will play two matches with each other.
    Delhi Daredevils (Group A) and KTK (Group B) will play two matches with each other.
    Kings XI Punjab (Group A) and RCB (Group B) will play two matches with each other.
    Mumbai Indians (Group A) and Rajasthan Royals (Group B) will play two matches with each other.
    Pune Warriors India (Group A) and CSK (Group B) will play two matches with each other.

Note: With remaining four teams of other groups, teams will play only one match.
Points: 2 points for Win, 1 point for no result.

Knockout Match Format
IPL 2011 has four knockout matches.

    1. 1st and 2nd Ranked team at Group Stage.
    2. 3rd and 4th ranked team at group stage.
    3. Loser of 1st Vs 2nd team and winner of 3rd vs 4th team.
    4. Final (Match 1 winner vs Match 3 winnerof Knockout Match format)

Indian Premier League 2010 Edition Results
Indian Premier League 2009 Edition Results
Indian Premier League 2008 Edition Results

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.