Indonesia Masters 2019: Sindhu and Saina Pass Tough Test, Srikanth and Men’s Doubles Team Join in Round 2

Saina, Srikanth, Sindhu
In the second major event of 2019 after Malaysian Masters, at Indonesia Masters 2019, Indians had a Mixed Day in Round 1. 2015 and 2018 Quarter-finalist 2nd Seed Sindhu, 2018 Runners up 8th seeds Saina and 2015 Runners up, Srikanth moved to Round 2 with Men’s Doubles team of Sumeeth Reddy / Manu Atri as Women’s Doubles team and Other Men’s Singles players were knocked out. Facing each other after four years, 2nd seed Sindhu and 26th seed Xuerui played for almost an hour where Sindhu won after coming from behind even in the final set. Li Xuerui led Sindhu 3-2 in career meets having last played at Denmark Open 2015. Saina had a surprise tough match while Srikanth won easily. HS Prannoy is the only Indian to have won  Indonesia Masters (2014) before.

Satwiksairaj Rankireddy / Chirag Shetty reached the semifinals of Indonesia Masters 2018 in Men’s Doubles.
Result of Qualifiers at Indonesia Masters 2019
  • Subhankar Dey qualified for Main Draw in Men’s Singles. He won against Gatjra Piliang Fiqihila (Indonesia) and Daniel Fan (Australia).
  • Pranaav Jerry Chopra and Sikki Reddy failed to qualify for Main draw losing qualifier against Indonesian pair.
Main Draw: Round 1
  • 8th seed Saina Nehwal def Dinar Dyah (Indonesia) 7-21 21-16 21-11 in 49 minutes
  • Manu Atri / Sumeeth Reddy def Kolding / Niclas (Denmark) 14-21 21-19 21-15 in 46 minutes
  • 8th seed Srikanth Kidambi def Wei Feng Chong (Malaysia) 21-12 21-8 in 29 minutes
  • 2nd seed Sindhu def Li Xuerui (China) 22-24 21-8 21-17 in 54 minutes
  • Ashwini Ponnappa / Sikki Reddy lost to 8th seed Thailand pair 21-14 21-14 in 37 minutes
  • Sai Praneeth lost vs 4th seed Chen Long (China) 21-12 21-16 in 41 minutes
  • Parupalli Kashyap lost vs 7th seed Ginting (Indonesia) 21-12 21-16 in 39 minutes
  • Subhankar Dey lost vs 6th seed Viktor Axelsen (Denmark) 21-14 19-21 21-15 in 1 hour 1 minute.
Round 2 Matches for Indians
  • Saina Nehwal vs Pornpawee (Thailand)
  • Kidambi vs Kenta Nishimoto (Japan)
  • Manu Atri / Sumeeth Reddy vs 5th seed Kim / Anders (Denmark)
  • Sindhu vs Gregoria Mariska (Indonesia)

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.