ICC 2018 Awards: Kohli Sweeps, Mandhana Wins Big to Lead India to Top

Few years before despite whitewashes abroad, some mentioned that India can’t have a new captain because there is no better option. Now, we have a world leader Test and ODI captain who created a record even in ICC awards by being the first to win three major awards. While Kohli created World Record with 5 rewards, Smriti Mandhana won big in Women’s category. Bumrah and Kohli has ruled the world in 2018 and not surprising that they are the only two common players selected in ICC Men’s Test and ODI Cricket teams of the Year 2018. Even in Wicket keeping choice, in his debut year Rishabh Pant has been selected in ICC test team. Harmanpreet Kaur was chosen as Captain of World T20I Team of 2018. Check complete list of ICC awards.

While Indians maintain maximum presence in both teams, New Zealand and England follow them in different formats. Surprisingly less representation is from South Africa. Indians rule the Indians rule the ICC Awards for 2018 with multiple awards in other sections too.

Congratulations to Indian Cricket fans as Indians rule the ICC Awards for 2018.
Big 5 for Virat Kohli! – As Player and Captain both

  1. ICC Men’s Cricketer of the Year
  2. ICC Men’s Test Cricketer of the Year
  3. ICC Men’s ODI Cricketer of the Year
  4. Captain of ICC Test Team of the Year
  5. Captain of ICC Men’s ODI Team of the Year

Other Awards for Indian Men’s Team

  1. India’s triumph in New Zealand to claim their fourth #U19CWC title was voted as the ICC Fans’ Moment of the Year 2018! It got 48% votes.
  2. ICC Emerging Player of the Year: Rishabh Pant
  3. ICC Men’s Test team of 2018: Kohli, Rishabh Pant, Jasprit Bumrah
  4. ICC Men’s ODI team of 2018: Rohit Sharma, Kohli, Kuldeep Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah

ICC Men’s Test XI: 3 each from India and New Zealand, None from England had none, 1 each from South Africa, Australia, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, West Indies
Test Squad: Kohli (Captain), Rishabh Pant, Jasprit Bumrah (India), Kane Williamson, Henry Nicholls, Tom Latham (New Zealand), Dimuth Karunaratne (Sri Lanka), Jason Holder (Windies), top-ranked Kagiso Rabada (South Africa), Nathan Lyon (Australia) and Mohammad Abbas (Pakistan)

ICC Men’s ODI XI: 4 each from India and England, 1 each from New Zealand, Bangladesh and Afghanistan
ODI Team: Rohit Sharma, Kohli (Captain), Kuldeep Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah (India), Joe Root, Jonny Bairstow, Jos Buttler, Ben Stokes (England), Mustafizur Rahman (Bangladesh), Rashid Khan (Afghanistan), Ross Taylor (New Zealand)

Batting Record in 2018 for Kohli
37 matches, 47 innings.
2,735 runs at an average of 68.37.
11 centuries, 9 fifties.

1st time: Kohli wins the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for ICC Men’s Cricketer of the Year 2018!
He was the top run-scorer in Tests with 1,322 runs at an average of 55.08, with centuries in each of South Africa, England, India and Australia.

2nd consecutive time ODI Cricketer of the Year: He scored 1,202 ODI runs in 2018 at a stunning average of 133.55. He also became the fastest to reach the milestone of 10,000 runs in the format.

Awards for Other Men’s Team:

  1. ICC Men’s T20I Performance of the Year award: Aaron Finch (172 vs Zimbabwe)
  2. David Shepherd Trophy for ICC Umpire of the Year: Kumar Dharmasena (Sri lanka)
  3. ICC Spirit of Cricket: Kane Williamson
  4. ICC Associate Player of the Year: Calum MacLeod (Scotland)

Awards for Indian Women’s Cricket Team:

  1. Women’s Cricketer of the Year (Rachel Heyhoe-Flint Award): Smriti Mandhana
  2. Women’s ODI Cricketer of the Year: Smriti Mandhana
  3. ICC T20I Team Captain of the year: Harmanpreet Kaur

Smriti Mandhana scored 669 runs in 12 ODIs with one century (135 vs South Africa) and 7 50s, averaging 66.90. Even in T20I World Cup, she finished as third top scorer of tournament with 178 runs.

Award for Other Nations:
Emerging Player of the Year: Sophie Ecclestone (England)
Jemimah Rodrigues and Radha Yadav of India finished second and third in voting.

Women’s T20I team of the year: Harmanpreet Kaur (Captain), Smriti Mandhana, Poonam Yadav (India), Alyssa Healy, Ellyse Perry, Ashleigh Gardner, Megan Schutt (Australia), Suzie Bates, Leigh Kasperek (New Zealand), Nat Sciver (England), Rumana Ahmed (Bangladesh)

Voting academy: Javed Hamid Kakar, Emal Pasarly (Afghanistan); Lisa Sthalekar, Andrew Wu, Mike Hussey (Australia) Utpal Shuvro, M. Farid Ahmed, Athar Ali Khan (Bangladesh); Julian Guyer, Lawrence Booth, Nasser Hussain (England); Deep Dasgupta, Sunandan Lele, Jasvinder Sidhu (India); Ian Callendar, Barry Chambers (Ireland); Mark Geenty, Ian Smith (New Zealand); Peter Borren (Netherlands); Ramiz Raja, Abdul Mohi Shah, Mazhar Arshad, Bazid Khan (Pakistan); Shaun Pollock, Neil Manthorp, Firdose Moonda (South Africa); Saroj Pathirana, Russel Arnold, Rex Clementine (Sri Lanka); Peter Della Penna (USA), Ian Bishop, Barry Wilkinson, Vinode Mamchan (West Indies); Trisan Holme, Mehluli Sibanda, Mpumelelo Mbangwa (Zimbabwe).
(Source: ICC Cricket)

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.