BWF World Championships: Past Winners of Women’s Singles

India Open 2017

The World Championships of Badminton 2018 is the 25th Badminton World Cup. A tournament where Saina Nehwal and Sindhu won India’s highest medal, three Silver medals in 2015, 2017 and 2018. Since it started, Chinese teams have dominated the game winning 16 Gold medals, followed by 3 Gold medals of Spain. Indonesia and Denmark have won 2 Gold medals each and Thailand won one Gold medal. Besides that Korea, Japan, Chinese Taipei, Malaysia, Hong Kong, India, France, Germany, Netherlands, England and Denmark have also won medals in the 33 year old World Badminton Championships. Carolina Marin is the only player to have won three Gold medals. Overall, India has won 3 Silver and 5 Bronze medals and are yet to have any semifinalists in Men’s and Mixed Doubles events Check the complete list of the past Women’s Singles Winner since 1977 till the end of 2018.

Indian Medal Winners at World Championships
List of Men’s Singles Winner
2018 Badminton World Championships: Indian Squad

Past Champions: Women’s Singles !977-2009

Year Venue Gold Silver Bronze
1977 Malmo, Sweden Lene Koppen (Denmrk) Gillian Gilks (England) Hiroe Yuki (Japan) & Margaret Lockwood (England)
1980 Jakarta, Indonesia Verawaty Wiharjo(Indonesia) Ivana Lie (Indonesia) Lene Koppen (Denmark) & Taty Sumirah (Indonesia)
1983 Copenhague, Denmark Li Lingwei (China) Han Aiping (China) Helen Troke (England) & Zhang Ailing (China)
1985 Calgary, Canada Han Aiping (China) Wu Jianqui (China) Li Lingwei (China) & Zheng Yuli (China)
1987 Beijing, China Han Aiping (China) Li Lingwei (China) Zheng Yuli (China) & Gu Jiaming (China)
1989 Jakarta, Indonesia Li Lingwei (China) Huang Hua (China) Tang Jiuhong (China) & Sawendah Kusumawardani (Indonesia)
1991 Copenhagen, Denmark Tang Jiuhong (China) Sarwendah Kusumawardhani (Indonesia) Susi Susanti (Indonesia) & Lee Heung-soon (Korea)
1993 Birmingham, England Susi Susanti (Indonesia) Hermawan Susanto (Indonesia) Ye Zhaoying (China) & Tang Jiuhong (China)
1995 Lausanne, Switzerland Ye Zhaoying (China) Han Jingna (China) Susi Susanti (Indonesia) & Bang Soo-hyun (Korea)
1997 Glasgow, Scotland Ye Zhaoying (China) Gong Zhichao (China) Han Jingna (China) & Wang Chen (China)
1999 Copenhagen, Denmark Camilla Martin (Denmark) Dai Yun (China) Gong Ruina (China) & Mette Sorensen
2001 Seville, Spain Gong Ruina (China) Zhou Mi (China) Gong Zhichao (China) & Zhang Ning (China)
2003 Birmingham, United Kingdom Zhang Ning (China) Gong Ruina (China) Zhou Mi (China) & Mia Audina (Netherlands)
2005 California, United States Xie Xingfang (China) Zhang Ning (China) Xu Huaiwen (Germany) & Cheng Shao-chieh (Chinese Taipei)
2006 Madrid, Spain, Xie Xingfang (China) Zhang Ning (China) Xu Huaiwen (Indonesia) & Petra Overzier (Indonesia)
2007 Kuala Lumpur, Malaysis Zhu Lin (China) Wang Chen (Hong Kong) Lu Lan (China) & Zhang Ning (China)
2009 Hyderabad, India Lu Lan (China) Xie Xingfang (China) Wang Lin (China) & Pi Hongyan (France)
2010 Paris, France Wang Lin (China) Wang Xin (China) Tine Rasmussen (Denmark) & Wang Shixian (China)
2011 Wembley, London Wang Yihan (China) Cheng Shao-chieh (Taipei) Juliane Schenk (Germany) & Wang Xin (China)
2013 Guangzhou Ratchanok Inthanon (Thailand) Li Xuerui (China) Bae Youn-joo (Korea) & PV Sindhu (India)
2014 Copenhagen Carolina Marín (Spain) Li Xuerui (China) Minatsu Mitani (Japan) & PV Sindhu (India)
2015 Jakarta Carolina Marín (Spain) Saina Nehwal (India) Sung Ji-hyun (Korea) & Lindaweni Fanetri (Indonesia)
2017 Glasgow Nozomi Okuhara (Japan) PV Sindhu (India) Saina Nehwal (India) & Yufei Chen (China)
2018 Nanjing Carolina Marín (Spain) PV Sindhu (India) Akane Yamaguchi (Japan) & HE Bingjiao (China)

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.